If you are unable to view this email click here to view online.
August 2010

As we reported at our Summer Picnic, we received more than 50 applications for the 2010-11 class. My sincere thanks go to the members of the Candidate Recruitment and Nominating Committee – Kay Ayres, Chair, Angela Phelps White, Co-Chair, Kathy Eshelman, Val Hoover, Jody O’Brien, Randi Ostry, and Sara Walsh – for the hard work they have done in interviewing many of the applicants and selecting 25 women to participate in the class which begins on September 22nd. We would really like to accept more of the outstanding women who applied, but want the class members to have the valuable experience of getting to know each other and building the relationships which have been the hallmark of the Institute.

Thanks, too, to all of you who were able to attend the Summer Picnic. The 2009-10 class selected Kimberly Gormley to be their representative on the Board of Trustees for the next year. There have been many good pictures taken at the picnic posted on the Institute’s Facebook page.

Please be sure you have Thursday, November 18 marked on your calendar for our annual continuing education meeting. Details will follow.

Jo Ann

As fall approaches (too quickly!), we are proud to announce the selection of our largest class--25! The choices were very difficult, but this class has some remarkable talent.

With all of your help, this November's election is beginning to shape up asa Republican Renaissance. Each of you can make that happen: door to door, phone banks, donations, emailing your friends and family and generally helping everyone know what a critical election this is for Ohio and the nation is so important. Thanks for all you do. On to November--and victory!


Congratulations to the Class of 2010-2011!

Ann Kathryn (Liotta) Aquillo
Cheryl Marie Buckland
Jeananne Chadsey
April Cohagen-Gibson
Janine Eileen Conrad
Amanda Christine Datemasch
Michael-lynn Tunnell Evans
Marianne Gasiecki
Christine Haddad Polesovsky
Heather E. Harlow
Daphne Hawk
Kari Bowie Hertel
Debbie Johnson

Kimberly Kutschbach
Jody Licursi
Danette Lund
Lacey Janette Meeks
Rachel Oktavec
Erica Marie Pitchford
Vicki Rich
Deborah Lee Sasser
Elizabeth Schuller
Amy Lori Searcy
Brittany Leann Williams
K. Kathleen Young

Barbara Lach (Board of Trustees)
August 2010

Barbara B. Lach is to be installed as a member of the Enlarged Leadership Team for the National Association of REALTORS® at their annual REALTORS® Conference & Expo in New Orleans this November. She will be the 2011 Liaison to Special Projects for NAR.

Merle Grace Kearns (Board of Trustees)
August 2010

Merle Grace Kearns was inducted into The Ohio Women's Hall of Fame. Merle Grace Kearns, of Port Clinton, is a former member of the Ohio House of Representatives representing the 72nd House district and serving as Majority Leader in the 126th General Assembly. Kearns was also a member of the Ohio Senate from 1991-2000, representing the 10th Senate District. Throughout her tenure, Kearns was named "Legislator of the Year" by 10 different organizations. She also served as the director of the Ohio Department of Aging from 2005-2007. Kearns became the first woman ever to be elected as a commissioner in Clark County in 1980. She received a bachelor's degree from The Ohio State University .
View entire article

Wednesday, September 22
September Class

Friday, October 22
October Class

Thursday, November 18

11:30 am - 1:30 pm Board meeting
1:30 - 5:00 pm Continuing Education Program
6 - 8 pm Dinner for Institute members - Location TBA

Friday, November 19
November Class

December - No Class

Friday, January 28
January Class

Friday, February 25
February Class

Friday, March 25
March Class

Friday, April 22
April Class

Tuesday, May 10 - Thursday, May 12
DC Trip



Carol Salmon (2010 Class)
July 2010

Carol Salmon was recognized for her leadership and commitment to volunteering for her community's 4th of July festivities. View entire article

Beau Euton (2005 Class)
August 2010

Ohio Matters July/August 2010 edition
Insider Q&A: Vice President, Membership
The daughter of a small business owner, Beau Euton understands what it’s like to run a small business. So taking on the role of vice president of membership for the Ohio Chamber of Commerce was a natural fit.

What brought you to the Ohio Chamber?
I had a couple of conversations with CEO Andy Doehrel about me working as a consultant to help reorganize the membership department. However, the more we spoke I decided that I would like to take on the job. I already appreciated the Chamber’s reputation because I had been in Columbus several years. 
Download entire article

Elise Spriggs (2001 Class)
August 2010

Elise Spriggs was recently appointed to the Community Mercy Health Partners Board of Trustees.

Christa Colasante (2002 Class)
August 2010

Christa Colasante is serving as a Precinct Chairperson in Gahanna for Congressman Pat Tiberi's Congressional campaign.

Jennifer LuPiba (2009 Class)
August 2010
Jennifer LuPiba has accepted a new position as a Product Marketing Manager with Quest Software, a globally recognized software firm and Microsoft Partner headquartered in Southern California. Jennifer will be located in Quest's Dublin office.


Chris Xeil Lyons (2004 Class)
August 2010

Chris Xeil Lyons accepted a new position with the LNE Group. She will be a managing their Cincinnati/Dayton office in West Chester, Ohio.  LNE is a full service Government Relations, Grant Writing and Public Communications firm. They have offices in Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati/Dayton, Pittsburgh, Los Angeles, Washington DC, and Berlin, Germany. LNE will be opening an office in London in the near future.

randiostryRandi Marie Ostry (2002 Class)
August 2010

Randi Marie Ostry, formerly Randi Ostry LeHoty,  was recently appointed as the Hearing Officer for The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology.   Randi recently moved to Columbus where she will eventually make her new home in New Albany. In the meantime, she is living with fellow institute member, Kathy Eshelman.


• Need to update your contact, career or accomplishments section of our online directory?

• Want to look up other members?

• Use this link http://jadleadershipinstitute.roundtablelive.org/
and your email address and confidential password to access the online directory.

• Please remember this is for Members ONLY - for your own use!

• Forgot your password? Send an e-mail with the subject: "JADOLI forgot password" and your first and last name to: shelbi@patrioticjewelry.com.

Have some news for
our next edition?
Click here
to submit
your information.


Jo Ann Davidson Ohio Leadership Institute • 37 West Broad Street, Suite 970, Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone (614) 224-0777 • www.jadleadershipinstitute.com